Daniel Kammen and Edward Miquel elected to AAAS

April 23, 2020

BIDS Senior Fellows Daniel M. Kammen and Edward Miquel are among nine UC Berkeley faculty members recently elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). The nine are among 276 new AAAS members, who are honored among the country’s most accomplished artists, scholars, scientists and leaders. 

Daniel Kammen is the Director of the Renewable and Appropriate Energy Laboratory (RAEL) and a professor of energy and resources, public policy and nuclear engineering at UC Berkeley. His research on energy supply and transmission, smart grid and low-carbon energy systems, life-cycle impacts of transportation options and energy for community development spans the globe. Edward Miguel is the co-founder and Faculty Director of the Center for Effective Global Action (CEGA) and the Berkeley Initiative for Transparency in the Social Sciences (BITSS), and UC Berkeley's Oxfam Professor of Environmental and Resource Economics. He is an expert on African economic development. Other newly elected AAAS members include singer/songwriter/activist Joan Baez, former U.S. Attorney General Eric H. Holder Jr., author Ann Patchett, poet/playwright Claudia Rankine, lawyer Anita Hill, New York Times reporter Adam Liptak, bioethicist R. Alta Charo, and independent filmmaker Richard Linklater.

Read more ...

New 2020 Members Announced
April 23, 2020  |  American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Nine faculty elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences
April 23, 2020  |  Robert Sanders  |  Berkeley News

Featured Fellows

Daniel Kammen

Energy and Resources Group, Goldman School of Public Policy, UC Berkeley
Faculty Affiliate

Edward Miguel

Economics, BITSS, CEGA
BIDS Alum – Senior Fellow